To better reflect our relationship with the National organization, we have changed our name to the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science – Missouri.




In June of 1933, 42 lab professionals met in Chicago, Illinois and accepted bylaws for the newly formed American Society for Clinical Laboratory Technicians (ASCLT). Over the years our name has changed to the American Society for Medical Technicians (ASMT), the American Society for Medical Technology (ASMT) and finally in 1993, the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS).

ASCLS, then ASMT, held its first independent convention in 1947. Now, together with the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC), ASCLS hosts the premier continuing education event of the year.

ASCLS has three major live conferences each year, the Annual Meeting, Clinical Laboratory Educators' Conference (CLEC), and the Legislative Symposium.

Through the past seven decades, this ASCLS has contributed much to the profession: in advocacy, standards setting, education (professional and continuing), personal and professional development, and much more. The American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science continues today as the pre-eminent laboratory organization representing laboratory personnel and advancing their interests — individually and collectively.



ASCLS-Missouri is a constituent society of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science. It is also one of five (5) states in Region VI; the others are Kansas, Iowa, Illinois, and Nebraska. Established in 1949 as the Missouri Society for Medical Technologists (MSMT), ASCLS-MO has been serving the interests of lab professionals for over 60 years.

Missouri's Leadership consists of the Board of Directors (President, President-elect, Past President, Treasurer, Secretary, Executive Secretary, First and Second Year Board Directors, Student Director, and the First Year Professional Director), District Representatives, and the various committee chairpersons.

For the purposes of communicating and distributing information, Missouri is divided into five (5) districts: St. Louis, Cape Girardeau/Poplar Bluff, Kansas City, Springfield/Joplin, and Columbia/Jefferson City.

Over the years, ASCLS-Missouri has gone through several changes but one thing will always stay the same: our goal to maintain excellence in the Clinical Laboratory profession by offering continuing education, networking, leadership opportunities, and providing a podium for your voice to be heard.